Menu Close

Library Committee

TOR 10

[1] Purpose

The Library Committee is a subcommittee of the Faculty Board, of the Faculty of Science, responsible for matters pertaining to information and learning resources.

[2] Committee Composition and meetings

A. Membership

i. One academic member from each Department –

  • Dr. PS Saputhanthri – Statistics (Chairperson)
  • Prof. P Udagama – Zoology & Environment Sciences
  • Prof. KAIL Gamalath – Physics
  • Dr. SK Boralugoda – Mathematics
  • Dr. MR Lamabadusuriya – Nuclear Science
  • Dr. Ireshika de Silva – Chemistry
  • Dr. PS Saputhanthri – Plant Sciences

ii. Senior Assistant Librarian – Ms. Sajeewanie Somaratne

B. Meeting Schedule

The Committee shall meet twice for a given semester (or more frequently as required)

[3] Duties and Responsibilities of the Library Committee

3.1 Identify learning resources related to the programme based on requests/ feedback from the stakeholders

3.2 Serving in the Library Technical Evaluation Committee for purchasing learning resources

3.3 Make recommendations to weed out books at regular intervals

3.4 Make recommendation to upgrade library facilities

3.5 Facilitating and conducting information literacy courses

3.6 Make recommendations related to library management