Menu Close

Offered by the Department of Nuclear Science

MSc Course in Nuclear Science was first set up in 1982 with the sponsorship of the Atomic Energy Authority of Sri Lanka. The main aim of this course was to meet the needs of the expanding fields of research and industrial applications of nuclear techniques in Sri Lanka.

Nuclear Techniques are currently being used in many fields. These include medicine, industry, agriculture, archaeology and almost all areas of research. The possible fields of application are rapidly expanding. This requires well-trained personnel with special sense of discipline. The item of the highest priority of any atomic energy programme must be proper training of an adequate number of scientists in important areas of atomic energy.

The MSc course in nuclear Science offered by the Department of Nuclear Science (SLQF 9) provides broad-based training in theoretical and applied nuclear science. Training in safety and protection is an integral part of this course. The course also includes practical and project work so that the students will gain confidence and also experience in the safe handling of radioactivity.


BSc degree in physical/biological science or any other equivalent qualification acceptable to the Senate of the University of Colombo.
Degrees from following institutions are accepted:

Course Fees

Course fee (local): Rs 350 000

Application Fee: LKR 2,500/-

Course fee (International) : USD 4000

Foreign students: Please contact the coordinator before applying

*The course fee cannot be paid as installments. However, our students are eligible for a student loan which can be obtained from the Thumulla Branch of Bank of Ceylon. Please contact them for more information.

Registration for 2024 intake

The programme is advertised for the 2024 intake.

Foreign students: Please contact the coordinator before applying

Tentative dates

Closing date of Applications: 30th October 2023   15th November

Date of commencement: January 2024

Program Structure

The MSc program will consist of two parts (Part I and Part II) and the contents will include lecture courses, guided reading, practical work and a mini project. The duration of the complete program will be 24 months. The MSc degree and the postgraduate diploma will be awarded according to the general guidelines of the Faculty of Science.

Medium : English

Part I - Nuclear Science (Postgraduate Diploma)

Postgraduate Diploma in Nuclear Science can be offered with 25 credits course work under Part I (without conducting any research project). Depending on the level of performance (minimum GPA of 2.5), Postgraduate Diploma can be offered.

Part II - MSc. in Nuclear Science with Course work

Students who maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0 by the end of part I will be allowed to proceed to part II. The MSc degree (Course work) can be offered by completing 25 credits course work and 5 credit Guided independent research module while maintaining a minimum GPA of 3.0.

Part III - MSc. in Nuclear Science with course work and research

The MSc degree ( research) can be Offered by completing a 30 credit (1 year) optional research module after Part II to those who are having GPA of 3.0 or better in Part II. Depending on the level of performance (minimum GPA of 3.0 in Part III), Masters Degree(research) can be offered.

Examination Structure

The performance of students in theory courses under part I will be evaluated through 10 examination papers. Evaluations in the theory courses may include in-class assignments in addition to the written examinations. The written examinations will be held at the end of each semester. The written examinations will take 2 hours for 2 credit courses and 3 hours for the 3 credit courses.

The courses with a practical component will be covered by laboratory practical classes. Those practical classes will be assessed based on the practical class performances and the practical reports submitted at the end of each practical session.

Those who fail the examinations will be allowed to repeat each paper once, at the next available opportunity.

In part II, each student will be given a mini project that will be guided by an assign supervisor. At the completion of the mini project, students will be required to submit a technical report/dissertation. The evaluation of project, which will be based on the technical report/dissertation and viva-voce examinations, will be carried out according to the general guidelines of the faculty.

Course Modules


Course Unit Course Name No. of Credits Note
MNS 5010 Radiation Physics 3C 30L, 30P
MNS 5011 Statistics for Nuclear Science 2C 15L, 30P
MNS 5012 Radiation Protection and Health Physics 3C 30L, 30P
MNS 5013 Radiobiology 2C 30L
MNS 5014 Radiochemistry, Radiation Chemistry, Nuclear Geology 3C 45L
MNS 5015 Nuclear Physics and Particle Physics 3C 30L, 30P
MNS 5010 Radiation Physics 2C 30L
MNS 5016 Regulatory Control of Radiation Sources 2C 30L
MNS 5017 Nuclear Analytical Techniques 3C 30L, 30P
MNS 5018 Nuclear Reactors 2C 30L
MNS 5019 Radiation Technology 3C 30L, 30P


Course Unit Course Name No. of Credits Note
MNS 5009 Guided independent research project 5C 150P


Course Unit Course Name No. of Credits Note
MNS 5020 Research Project (full time) 3C 1 Year

Teaching Panel

Dr. MR Lamabadusuriya Dept. of Nuclear Science, Uni. of Colombo
Dr. J S Wickramasinghe Dept. of Nuclear Science, Uni. of Colombo
Dr. J. Jeyasugiththan Dept. of Nuclear Science, Uni. of Colombo
Dr. SM Vithanarachchi Dept. of Chemistry, Uni. of Colombo
Dr. EANV Edirisinghe Acting DG, Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board
Mr. DGL Wickramanayake Retired Former DG, Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board
Mr. PRK Fernando Ceylon Mineral Laboratory
Mr. KKPIK Kadadunna Deputy Director, SL Atomic Energy Regul Council
Mrs. P. Mahawatte Retired, Former Asso. Prof, Dept. Nuclear Science
Prof. SRD Rosa Retired, Dept. of Physics, Uni. Of Colombo
Prof. P. Udagama Dept. of Zoology, Uni. Of Colombo
Dr. RMT Damayanthi Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Uni. Of Moratuwa
Mr. D. Dinushka University of Colombo School of Computing
Mr Champa Dissanyake Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board
Mr Charith Pathirana Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board
Dr. G H S Karunarathne Dept. of Statistics, Uni. of Colombo
Dr. N Karthikeyan Dept. of Physics, Open University Sri Lanka

Further Information

Further information regarding the MSc Program can be obtained by contacting the program coordinator.

Contact details of the program coordinators are as follows.

Intake Coordinator Email Phone
2022 Dr.Manuja Lamabadusuriya 0112502525
2020 Dr.Manuja Lamabadusuriya 0112502525

Application and the advertisement of the MSc programme – 2024 intake can be downloaded from the following link: