Menu Close

ACES 2021 - Advances in the Cutting-Edge of Science (ACES), International (Virtual) Symposium

ACES 2021 International Virtual Symposium organized by the Department of Chemistry to celebrate the centenary of science in Sri Lanka was successfully held on June 17th via a Zoom Webinar platform.

This event was graced by 3 Nobel Laureates from Chemistry, Physics and Physiology or Medicine. Ada Yonath (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009), Konstantin Novoselov (Nobel Prize in Physics 2010), Peter Doherty (Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996). In addition, Hema Karunadasa (Stanford University) and Stuart Cantrill (Chief Editor, Nature Chemistry) have also contributed to the event.

The Chief guest of the event, Vice Chancellor Prof. Chandrika N. Wijeyaratne, Dean, Faculty of Science, Prof. Upul J. Sonnadara and Head, Department of Chemistry, Prof. K.M. Nalin de Silva spoke at its inauguration.  Participants from 17 countries benefitted from the ACES symposium with attendees joining from more than 30 top ranking institutions from different parts of the world. Dr. Neranga Abeyasinghe served as the symposium Chair.

Some parts of ACES 2021 symposium published online are included in the following uploaded video at the Department of Chemistry official YouTube channel, CMB Chemistry.