Welcome to the Department of Physics at University of Colombo. Here you will find information on the department’s undergraduate and postgraduate programs, course offerings, research interests, facilities and special events.

The Department of Physics of the University of Colombo is the oldest and one of the most prestigious physics departments in the university system of Sri Lanka. It was established in 1921 under the University College affiliated to the University of London. Later it became the Department of Physics of the former University of Ceylon when it was established in 1942.

While focusing on undergraduate teaching with a blend of carefully developed theory and practical courses, the department has also earned a high reputation for its popular postgraduate and external courses, training programs and professional services extended to both the public and private sectors.